top of page
Search

Training Camp Is Complete!!

Training camp is complete!

Team camp is finally complete! It was for sure a good 2 week training block with some hard days and also some easy days. Everything was in 3day blocks so, we would train hard for 3 days then take an easy day. Some days I even took my easy day as a day off completely as I never really do recovery rides as I feel like a bag off spanners the day after!

I found everything 'ok' training wise but if I had to say something hurt me it would be the endurance, some days were up to 140miles and I would suffer a little no matter what I did but I always completed it.

I was really happy with my FTP test, which is a test you do for 20min and you get an average power to track your fitness. It was my best ever and its only January!

The food was really nice but the head chef left 3 days before team camp finished at the last few days everything was pretty basic but the funny thing was everyone took an extra scoop of dinner as he wasn't watching, they were my favourite days for sure and at night I would copy my bedtime weight from the week before! I hope he doesn’t read this…


I also picked up in a lot of other things from riders who was there. I thought I was pretty good at descending but these guys corner like they don’t want to live for tomorrow, you can see the experience there for sure!

If I didn't get any fitter on training camp at least I got faster at going round roundabouts lol.

My roommate, I only realised he won a stage of the tour on my last day! He taught me so much over the two weeks mentally wise, one of the things that stuck is that "the guy who wins the most races is the guy that doesn’t take anything too seriously" and if you think about it, it makes sense!

On Friday I rode back from training camp to the team house in Rian's. It was 50mile of pretty easy riding and teaching my friend some new English words. I never have laughed so hard, he had a sore ass from the hard two weeks but couldn't word it so, I will try include the video in the bottom of me teaching him how to say it! Its worth the watch!


Have you any tips for a beginner cyclist?

The main thing is to just get out and enjoy it! Maybe download Strava if you have a bit of a competitive side. I hate sitting here in France and seeing people taking my KOM's back home (you know who you are)

Join a club! When I joined my first club Ballymoney CC it was the best thing for me as I made so many friends that are still really close and I learned how to ride in a group etc.. Also even just talking to someone on a ride makes it so much more enjoyable! The Sunday club runs with the glens were the best!

Something that I never took it seriously was a bike fit, but now I have it done you see the changes! You feel at one with the bike and get less pains. I got insoles for my shoes and to this day I have not purchased anything better for cycling! My power went up a lot and I was never as fatigued. The helper for the Irish team Ken, told me that I needed them as my legs were in bits at the end of a stage race! It changed everything!

The main thing is to get out and look over the hedges and enjoy!

Who is your coach?





Team Delko have 2 main coaches that work together to develop me, they work with the nutritionist and together they all give me training and diet to get the best outcome off me. So yes, its pretty basic I get told what to do week by week and I do it. I will speak with them a lot throughout the week for if I'm feeling good or I'm feeling tired, sickness etc… so it can change sometimes. I think having a good relationship with the coach is super important as you work better together and they will know your strength and weakness in training.



When is the first race?

On the 6th February I hope but its hard to know with Covid and France maybe going into lockdown! It will be in the French Basque so some uphill! I cant wait for it!

The restrictions in France currently isn't too bad. You just cant be outdoors from 6PM to 6AM or the police will stop you and fine! But you can see why France isn't as bad with Covid as everyone wears a mask and respects social distancing!




My thoughts

I'm sat in bed writing this and I'm very tired after todays 6hour ride!

I can hear Mulu giving the team chef a haircut in the bathroom beside me! He did mine on Friday and he did a good job I must say.

I'm looking forward for an easier week on the bike to recover from a pretty hard 3 weeks!

Today on the bike I learned my directions, right, left, straight etc. Every time I turned left I would say "la gauche".




But that’s all this week!

Thanks for tuning in and hope you all have a good week!






403 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All

COVID

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page