top of page
Search

COVID

Life update

First of all, sorry. I have not posted a blog in a few weeks as there has been so much going on! I've finished my 6th race day already and its only turning march!

The training hasn't been going 100% as I have been fighting a lot off sickness ever since I came back from the training camp! I got food poisoning and that was the worst sickness I have ever had, I spent 3days in bed unable to move and then when I was able to get back on the bike my legs weren't right for about a week after that and then coming down with a chest injection and now worst of all I have Covid! It's strange because usually I am never sick.

So yea, my start of the season has been a nightmare!


Covid

I tested positive on the 7th.

Currently I am quarantined in a hotel until I get a negative test and I am bored out of my mind! I have my laptop and my play station with me and I may be the first person to complete Netflix!

My food gets brought to me 3 times a day and that’s the most exciting thing ever, you just never know what you will get, the man would leave it at the door, knock and then run like hell! I am on facetime a lot now to my family and friends to keep my head occupied which Is nice to see what's going on at home.

I had no idea I had anything wrong with me until I went out training one day and 30mins into the ride I felt I had no energy and the maximum I could do was 100watts! Felt like I bonked. Then I went home and spoke to my coach and we tried to figure out what went wrong in my diet, recovery and sleep but we couldn’t see anything wrong. Then I went for a test and sure enough it was positive!

I have not had many symptoms. I just constantly feel drained, it feels like you could have a nap at any point in the day with no problems. I also wake up at 9AM whereas usually it would be 7-7:30AM. But it's not too bad, I have had colds that have been a lot worse.




My first races

I have got my first part of the season finished now and I have had a lot of fun. Maybe not the best results just yet but they will come, it’s a long season. The level is a lot higher and the race is more tactical, usually the smartest guy will win the race. The hardest part of the racing is staying focused for 3-4hrs. I think these early races are like a game of cards, a break could sneak up the road and never be seen again as everyone looks for the big names in the peloton to do something. But when the races get hilly later in the season it will be a different race for sure!


My season started off in the French Basque in the north of France where it rains constantly this time of the year. It was cold, damp and fast. But I picked up the sprint points from being in the early breakaway and then getting caught and finishing 17th.

I did Tour Of The Var two weeks ago which is where the team house is based so I was able to race pass the team house which was cool and I knew the roads quite well where I picked up another top 20. Tour of the Var, I also saw some Irish guys in the race which was nice to see a few English speaking fella's in the bunch.

I did my first Italian race last week and for sure I have never did a race as crazy. Racing with a field which is mainly Italians is not a good thing! They don’t care about anything and wouldn't think twice about taking you off! They will speak to you in a bad way and try make you think they are better. My tip for someone who gives you abuse in the peloton is to just smile at them :), It will frustrate them more… Or to the Italians say "vaffanculo"

But every race I have finished I would be kicking myself in saying I would of attacked there or went with that certain breakaway, which is good because I think I will take them on in the next race and then get better and better at French racing.




What's next?

I have had a lot of motivation the last few weeks but it feels impossible to put it to play with the amount of sickness! But after this I should be back on track and my body will have so many antibodies it will be able to handle anything! I was supposed to race this weekend in France which I was looking forward to as the race was quite hilly and suited me. Now that the early races are done they will start to be on more hilly terrain which is going to suit me a lot better!




My thoughts

I am happy to make a start on the season anyway even though it hasn't been a great one but for me if everything is going good I will stay the same but if I am not on track it gives me that little push to get where I need to be and makes me suffer that little more in training! I'm still on track its still a long way to my main goal this year.

Thanks everyone for reading and if you have any suggestions let me know because I have a lot of time lol…

Have a good week!






405 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page