top of page
Search

Reflection on 2021!






Where have I been?



Hello again! First off all I want to say sorry for not keeping these going as a said I would, after a busy race season, it was hard to get the time to sit down and write one off these. I have told myself I will sit down some evening and write but when it comes to it I never do. I'm here now :)

When I do sit down to write these it actually is quite enjoying I think wow, I am quite interesting at times… But yes, my race season in France has been 'full gas' and it means now I should have a lot to talk about but I'll spread it out over a few blogs!



Reflecting on my 2021 season. This is the main part off this blog, I can write down what went on this year. You may not have heard me get many good results or heard me talking about races its quite simply down to the fact I didn't do much. I raced a lot but wasn't performing to the level I know I can!



I started my year off really well as I had a good winter. I came into the season and raced Essor Basque which is suited to bigger powerful riders and won the sprint jersey and got up there in results, the races after that continued to be quite well and was thinking I could get my first win earlier than I thought. It was coming! I had so much confidence as well I was really ruthless, was never afraid to go with the breakaway or give it a dig in the final parts off races. It was all going so well! What happened?



In the middle of March I came down with really bad food poisoning, I was in bed for 3-4days, couldn’t even look at my phone at when I recovered it took a long time to get back to full health.



About 2 weeks later I raced a big UCI in Italy and I came back feeling really sh*t on the bike and couldn’t figure out what it was. I got a PCR test and it turned out it was Covid! So 2weeks in a hotel room with no bike had to be the hardest part off my season.

After covid I was still feeling awful on the bike for weeks after and was in no shape to race, I got dropped and dropped again in races I knew I could be up there fighting for the win, It was very hard for me!

Another while down the line I did another race in the north of France where I came down in a bad crash close to the final fighting for position in the peloton. I got back on my bike to chase back on but my arm felt soo heavy and painful and it had turned out I broke my collarbone/clavicle which had me take 5weeks with no bike!

After some fighting to get back into shape I had the feeling I was being left behind. Everyone was coming into the important races in very good shape and it was like I had my end off season break and just starting from scratch. But I kept training so hard, maybe the hardest I ever trained! I won my first race 5 weeks after breaking my collarbone and it was very rewarding for me!



After that I raced well in some good races like finishing high up in GC at Cote d'Orr. I raced my biggest race off the year Alsace and on the 3rd Stage I was involved in a big pile up fighting into the bottom off the climb and I was hurt bad. I suffered quite bad concussion as the crash was a blurr and falling asleep straight after the stage I think it was pretty clear.

After Alsace I was in a bad place mentally. I wasn't gave up in any means I was just fed up with the fact of bad luck! It felt like I was always on some sort of comeback and never felt I was anywhere near my top condition!

But I kept the head down and had the Irish championships in mind and put all my focus into that.

I managed to win the Irish TimeTrial Championships which was awesome and can't wait to wear the stripes this year!

So yep, that was my season summed up and I will say I will comeback stronger but you already know that ;)

Where am I now?

I am currently in Sierra Nevada, Spain. Its my favourite place on earth (other than home of course). I have trained in a lot off places but no where stands close to here.

The long climbs, Sunny weather, No cars and just a place to get the head down! I also like it here because I know a lot off people here involved with the company Cycle Sierra Nevada which is a cycling holiday and bike rental and I love helping them out in the workshop and going on the group rides.

I forgot to mention the good coffee!

I couldn’t be happier here!

My highlight this year.

I could choose a few but the one that stands out the most is the World Championships in Belgium. Just the roaring crowds at the side off the road was unbelievable, i didn’t even feel my legs the whole time trial.

Also signing with my new team Trinity Racing which I know there is no better team to support me for 2022!

Summary.

I'm sat here at the kitchen table and about to go make another cup off tea so I'll sum it up.

Its been a good year. A lot off people say it’s a year to forget about and move on but its not. I learned so much.

I learned how to speak a foreign language, live alone, race, race unfit lol and to never give up. I can take these things on with me to a more successful year this year!

I can't thank you all enough for your support this year! It really has been amazing and you know who you all are! <3

I'm off to make a cuppa and google if its okay to use 'lol' in a blog.



Thanks guys!


367 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

COVID

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page